American Pharmacists Association Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP)

The mission statement of UIC’s American Pharmacists Association - Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy. APhA-ASP is the largest and most active pharmacy student organization at the UIC College of Pharmacy campus - our organization has receive accolades at the university, regional, and national levels for our innovative programming and engaging community outreach events. APhA-ASP provide opportunities for student pharmacists to become involved through patient care projects, community outreach, international organizations, career programming, and professional development. Our various initiatives include legislative advocacy, International Pharmacy Student Federation (IPSF), annual Clinical Skills Workshop, APhA-ASP/CVS’s National Patient Counseling Competition, and many more.

What we offer to our members:
● Four memberships in one (APhA, APhA-ASP, IPSF, and IPhA)
● Networking with fellow students, pharmacists, and other healthcare professionals at the local, regional, and national levels.
● Community outreach and patient education initiatives
● Leadership opportunities (such as the P1 Liaison position)
● Learn about special topics in pharmacy from influential guest speakers
● Travelling abroad opportunities!


Chapter President (C): Jessica Ni

Chapter President (R): Sandra Ekoma
President-Elect (C): Kevin Cheng

President-Elect (R): Courtney Hooten
VP of Patient Care (C): Justin Han

Senior VP of Patient Care (R): Daniel Sikora

Junior VP of Patient Care (R): Cat Hayes  

VP of Membership (C): Amy Liu
VP of Membership (R): Silvia Elakatt
VP of Fundraising: Madison Collins

VP of Finance (C): Vanderly Dang
VP of Finance (R): Nick Lombardo
VP of Communications (C): Tuyet Ngoc Tran

VP of Communication (R): Liezl Peterson
VP of Legislative Affairs: Amar Amin

VP of Golf and Social Chair: Angi Bayko

VP of IPSF: Emily Tran

Senior Vice President of Policy: Catherine Sanden

Junior Vice President of Policy: Jennifer Takamura
Operation Heart Chair: (C)  Blanche Danacek

Operation Heart Chair (R): Shafa Al-Humadi
Operation Self-Care Chair: Sarah Suk
Operation Diabetes Chair (C): Lina Hwang

Operation Diabetes Chair (R): Brooke Williams
Operation Immunization Chair (C): Sunhye Moon

Operation immunization Chair (R): Bansari Modhera
Operation Generation Rx Chair: Michael Wong

Operation OTC Med Safety Chair (C): Joann Huynh

Operation OTC Med Safety Chair (R): Eric Steele

P1 Liaison:

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Marlowe Djuric Kachlic, Dr. Alice Hemenway